Many websites and online streaming services are now offering high definition video content to consumers. While high definition video content is meant to provide enhanced picture quality, in many circumstances a high definition stream cannot easily be distinguished from a standard definition stream. Despite this, streaming high definition video can consume significantly more of your data than streaming standard definition video.
Xplornet’s Video Data Saver (VDS) is a new feature designed to help you use your data efficiently. When VDS is set to “ON”, videos will automatically adjust to stream in standard definition. By using your data efficiently, VDS will enable you to enjoy more content each month with your Xplornet Internet service.
How you access VDS
VDS is set to “ON” by default, so no action is required to take advantage of this feature. If you want to adjust your VDS settings, simply log on to MyXplornet.com. VDS can be temporarily snoozed for 24 hours or disabled for a week.
Haven’t set up a MyXplornet.com account? Don’t worry. Log on to MyXplornet.com, click on “Don’t have a MyXplornet account yet? Click here to register.” and follow the on-screen instructions. If you have forgotten your User Name and/or Password; it can easily be retrieved once you log on to MyXplornet.com. Simply follow the on-screen instructions.
Once you have logged in to your account, you will see a section for Internet Usage and Settings. Simply click “Video Data Saver”.
How to use VDS
VDS is set to “ON” as default and already optimized for you to stream video in standard definition.
If you wish to watch video in higher resolution, which will use more data, select one of the following options:
- Turn “Video Data Saver Mode” to “OFF” to allow you to watch video in higher resolution for 7 days.
- Turn “Snooze of Video Data Savings” to “ON”, to allow you to watch video in higher resolution for 24 hours.
Note: If you temporarily turn OFF or Snooze the feature, a notification will appear to let you know when VDS will resume.
Sample of when Video Data Saver Mode will resume (after 7 days).
Sample of when Snooze will expire (in 24 hours).
You have the ability to turn the Snooze function off or turn the Video Data Saving mode back on at any time.
VDS will automatically resume to help you save data and watch more when Snooze has expired after 24 hours or Video Data Saver resumes after 7 days.
Should you wish to permanently disable the Video Data Saver function, an authorized user in your household must email firstname.lastname@example.org from an email linked to your account. It is important to note that once VDS has been permanently disabled, you will not have the ability to Snooze or turn VDS back on. Once permanently disabled, to re-enable the Video Data Saver, you will need to email email@example.com from an email linked to your account.
Did you know?
There are many other ways to self-serve available on MyXplornet.com.